Ibn battuta, the name known for its popularity in world exploration,  especially for the expedition   through India, comes  to the spotlight of Madin’s academic career with the opening of, as part of Madin’s 20th  annual conference Vicennium, a cultural research centre with Ibn Batuta’s own name and in his own land morocco, Ibn Batuta Research Institute, a research institute  aimed at exploring advanced opportunities in doing research and studying Ibn Battutas travel, at one of the most prominent universities in Morocco, Agadir University.

Madin academy, in its 20th anniversary celebration, focuses more on a series of initiatives,  of which the opening of research institute takes more relevance, related to the studies and researches on Malabar’s cultural relation.  As such, the research centre offices that undertakes projects on conducting annual conferences on Ibn battuta, his explorations, and its cultural relevance , doing research and publishing papers on other travelers to Malabar, promoting the free flow and visit of researcher scholars between countries, will be opened at  both  Madin and Agadir campuses . On the sidelines, Madin chairman Sayyid Ibrahim Khaleel Albukhari visited Tangier from where Ibn Battuta began his journey, while research scholars under Agadir university president Dr Aziz Bosliqan had visited Kerala last December.

With the presence of eminent international figures including the head of UN Alliance of Civilization H.E. Mr Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser, Agadir governor Swalih Almalooki, Madin academy chairman Sayyid Ibrahim Khaleel Albukhari, Agadir university president Dr Aziz Bosliqan, Indonesian ambassador Syarief Syamsuri, Russian ambassador Valori Vorobiav, and head of Agadir university international relations Muhammad Muhyidheen, a grand inaugural function which was followed by a seminar on “cultural exchange, the tradition of brotherhood”, inaugurated by Nihal saad (New York),spokesperson for UN Alliance of Civilization, was held at Agadir university. In the seminar, Rawad Mehyoob (UK), Ahad Sha (US), Thanveer Hussain (Jordan), Dr. Asidan Abdul Jabbar (Malaysia), Dr Abbas Panakkal (India), Ummer Melmuri (India) and Dr Illyas Majlidun presented their papers.